Please use this identifier to cite or link to this item:
Title: The adoption of South Africa’s constitutionally-mandated indigenous languages as languages of learning and teaching (Lolt): a multilingualism approach.
Authors: Thwala, Jozi Joseph.
School of Development Studies
Keywords: Accountability.;Multiculturalism.;Multilingualism.;Non-racism.;Non-sexism.;Reconciliation.;Indigenous languages.
Issue Date: 2019
Publisher: IJAHSS
Abstract: The objectives of this paper are to contextually define, describe and analyse the constitutionallymandated languages of South Africa. These are approached from spatial, historical and cultural settings. The Constitution recognises eleven official languages; namely, Northern Sotho, Southern Sotho, Setswana, Siswati, isiNdebele, isiXhosa, isiZulu, Tshivenda, Xitsonga, Afrikaans and English. Enhancement of multilingualism and multiculturalism is significant, to ensure the functionality of reconciliation and accountability. Each language has its deep historical background and attractive cultural practices. Languages are significant aspects of any educational system and unique human attributes that enable human being to genuinely learn, think creatively, define reality and share meaning.
Appears in Collections:Journal articles

Files in This Item:
File Description SizeFormat 
The-adoption-of-South-Africas-constitutionally-mandated-indigenous-languages.pdfPublished version443.09 kBAdobe PDFView/Open
Show full item record

Page view(s)

checked on Jan 8, 2021


checked on Jan 8, 2021

Google ScholarTM


Items in UMP Scholarship are protected by copyright, with all rights reserved, unless otherwise indicated.